SciShow Future Episode Ideas

Comments

• Hail, Ice pellets, Diamond Dust.

Additionally / Alternatively, how exactly meteorological measurements are taken, what they are measuring, and why or how those factors matter.
    0118 999 881 999 119 7253
  • softcannonballssoftcannonballs Posts: 51 ✭✭
    It would be really cool if we could get a simplified explanation of string theory :3
    turn off your mind, relax, and float downstream
  • aiyoungaiyoung Posts: 19
    @softcannonballs

NOVA did a pretty good mini-series on string theory with physicist Brian Greene. 

His book "The Elegant Universe" goes into more detail than the show and is worth checking out too.  
    Posted via immobile device
  • ArielAriel Posts: 146 ✭✭✭
    Mercurial said:
    I would love to hear more about neuroscience! I'm an undergrad studying biology and work in a neuroscience lab right now. So, yeah, the idea of consciousness would be a great topic to cover!

In particular though, a topic that I think would be interesting to a lot of viewers is the concept of neural plasticity. There's a lot of different directions an episode could go with this one. Neural plasticity of learning, or how drugs or neurodegenerative diseases change in terms of plasticity -- for example, when rats are given cocaine it is seen that their brains actually develop more synapses and more dendritic spines, thus leading to sensitization. Fascinating!

There is actually some website now (wish I could remember the name of it! But it advertises on SciShow or CrashCourse, that's how I heard about it) which is based on the concept of neural plasticity and how their games can help your brain become more efficient at problem solving.. or something. I wish I knew more about it; I'm not sure how credible it may or may not be, but it's an interesting idea at very least! :)

If there are any other nerdfighter neuroscientists around, you're welcome to send me a message! :p I'd love to geek out with you.