Aspiring writers, authors and poets. UNITE!

Most of us have come to these forums and the community through John's books, I can hazard a guess that I'm not the only one around here having a crack of writing (anything). I'm currently writing a short story about a teenager that becomes paralyzed and the journey he goes on, this is my first try at  remotely sustained writing. This podcast and constant reading has really improved my knowledge about the process and technical knowledge. 

What's your project? Have you written before? What do you write? Do you have any tips? 
Discuss! 

Comments

• shaunaaaahshaunaaaah Posts: 113 ✭✭
    I haven't been able to do much writing between school and working, which is editing so it gets me in a writing frame of mind but I also need to sleep.
    But the novel I'm working on is something of a writing experiment, it's about the idea of a general conscious at the approach of the end of time. Kindof like how often animals will flee before a forest fire, that being in touch with the way things are that thing that people have more or less lost. It'll be about interconnectedness and where we see our place in the grand scheme of things being.
    I have a feeling it might end up being the kind of thing that I write a bit at a time for years, writing other books in the meantime.
  • Isaac_GrayIsaac_Gray Posts: 15
    I'm aspiring to be a writer, in addition to many other things. I don't have much experience though, so it's really just trial-and-error. I've had a few bouts of inspiration now and then and got stuff written, but I really don't know if I'm doing anything wrong or what.
    Music makes you braver.
  • DannythelionDannythelion Posts: 118 ✭✭
    @Isaac_Gray I've found that reading and writing like a crazy person is a pretty good way to start, sounds odd and reckless but it seems to have worked for me. 
  • KayWhyzKayWhyz Posts: 146 ✭✭✭