Hello! (Introductions)

Comments

• MeroviusMerovius Zürich, SwitzerlandPosts: 24
    Hey :)

I'm Axel, I'm from Germany, currently living in Switzerland (and currently currently visiting the US - still in my hotel room after Nerdcon Nerdfighteria).

I'm a computer nerd by trade and pretty much my whole life is dominated by the tech community. All my friends are in tech, my hobbies are "programming" and it feels like the only marketable skills I have are doing tech-things. This is currently causing a great deal of anxiety to me, as I it means that this is all I have and if I fail at my job, that'll mean my whole life is going to be gone, pretty much.

So yeah. I'm trying to break out of my bubble, widen my circle, get to know new, different kinds of people and build new, broader skills as a safety net for my inevitable doom. And the nerdfighter community seems pretty well aligned with my values, so it's probably a good place to start :) I started learning about it from Crash Course World History first, through that to the vlogbrothers videos, then to Dear Hank And John and finally reading through John's entire Bibliography.

In terms of what non-tech things I do (or plan to do): As a child I read a lot and I wanted to be a writer for the first two thirds of my life, so I might be trying to pick that up again (ever since I went to university, I kinda didn't have the time to read much, though…). I've also, for a long time now, wanted to start a youtube-channel to teach undergrad mathematics (I have a masters in math).
  • beepbop1011beepbop1011 International Space StationPosts: 628 ✭✭✭
    @Merovius Welcome to Our lovely, lovely Pants.

How'd Nerdcon go for you?
    Merovius said:

In terms of what non-tech things I do (or plan to do): As a child I read a lot and I wanted to be a writer for the first two thirds of my life, so I might be trying to pick that up again (ever since I went to university, I kinda didn't have the time to read much, though…)