Martial arts?

HelleHelle Posts: 21
Any nerdfighters who do martial arts out there? If so: What sort? How long have you been training? What belt are you? (If your branch uses belts, that is) Why did you start, and why do you still train? Aaaand...anything else you might like to add.

I train ju jitsu, and I've been training for ...some years. I really don't know any more. I'm a black belt, 1st dan. I started training just because all of my friends did, and I didn't want to be left out. Not one of the friends I started with still train, though...oh well. 

Comments

• random_fanrandom_fan Posts: 173
    I study combined martial arts, have been doing it for I think about four years and am currently a brown belt. I started because I'd been interested in studying a martial arts and two of my friend were studying it and so I thought I'd give it a go, they quit before I even had my first lesson but it was so fun I didn't care. I've been in a couple of tournaments and last year came third for both kata and sparring for my belt grade in the state.
    "Like cheese in our pockets, these are the Pizza in Our Pants."
  • CharlotteCharlotte Posts: 19
    I do taekwondo. I started in February this year as part of my Duke of Edinburgh award. I'm only yellow stripe but I'm really determined to keep going because it's the first sport I've tried that I actually care about.
  • ErasmasErasmas Posts: 6

I study Moh-Kempo Kung-fu. Been doing it for… six years? I think. I just got my blue sash which is the second in the traditional Chinese ranking system that goes green sash, blue sash, red sash, and then white sash. I’m not really sure why I started, I guess it seemed like it would be fun, which it was. 

• tim_colligtim_collig Posts: 3
    AIKIDO!!!!!!!!! 
    is what I do
    probably been doing it for 6 months and i'm going for my 6th kyu soon
  • GaleronGaleron Posts: 5