Vancouver Island

nerdlizzienerdlizzie Posts: 20
Anyone from the Vancouver Island region? 

I just moved to Victoria from the States, but I'll be here for quite a while because I began a masters program that will most likely turn into a PhD program. 

Comments

• karakamoskarakamos Posts: 4
    Yesss! I've lived on the Island for a while, but I'm now also currently in Victoria, in my first year of university. I've yet to meet any Nerdfighters in person, though, so this is awesome!
  • nerdlizzienerdlizzie Posts: 20
    @karakamos Hi!!!!

(Sorry if that sounded too excited.)

Do you by any chance go to UVic? That is where I currently am, and will be, for the foreseeable future. (Oh grad school...) What are you studying?

I have sort of met Nerdfighters before, but this doesn't count because they were friends who later decided to convert me to the life of Nerdfighter. 
    @nerdlizzie Hi!! And it's definitely not too excited! I'm all about exclamation marks!

Indeed I do! I'm studying English and Creative Writing right now/probably, as an ickle firstie. What are you studying that brought you here? How are you liking the city so far? 

Yeah, I have a couple friends who are kind of Nerdfighters, but I knew them before, so I figure it doesn't really count.
    @karakamos ;I am studying marine geology/sediment dynamics. As you can imagine, location is very important for my field. Also, I have always loved Canada and was interested to live here. I really love Victoria. It is beautiful. Canadians are very friendly. I can ride the buses everywhere. I also have been training for my first marathon (which I run Sunday in Seattle), and there are so many awesome running trails with beautiful scenery. I'm slowly getting used to the rain. Definitely have learned to love rainboots.