Linguistics

13»

Comments

• nonesuch42nonesuch42 Los Angeles, CAPosts: 7
    I only kinda skimmed the thread, but it looks like there are some excellent linguistics people on here! I'm a first year PhD student at the University of Southern California. @Hedvig is right when she says most Americans learn generativist theory. Just today we finished our first semester on Government and Binding/Minimalist Program syntax. I am most interested in pursuing syntax/semantics/pragmatics, but I did a year of field methods during by BA, and would love to work in language documentation as well. USC is also big on "psycholinguistics," which is where the linguists interested in cognitive science work. Hopefully I can convince my professors to look at some more functionalist approches to syntax, but for now I'll be content that there are cool people on the internet. :)
  • HedvigHedvig Posts: 80 ✭✭
    edited December 2012

I only kinda skimmed the thread, but it looks like there are some excellent linguistics people on here! I'm a first year PhD student at the University of Southern California. @Hedvig is right when she says most Americans learn generativist theory. Just today we finished our first semester on Government and Binding/Minimalist Program syntax. I am most interested in pursuing syntax/semantics/pragmatics, but I did a year of field methods during by BA, and would love to work in language documentation as well. USC is also big on "psycholinguistics," which is where the linguists interested in cognitive science work. Hopefully I can convince my professors to look at some more functionalist approches to syntax, but for now I'll be content that there are cool people on the internet. :)
    How nice!

I've found that a good introduction to more functionalist frameworks is Basic Linguistic Theory (BLT) by Dixon and Croft (or anything by Croft, Comrie or the semi-god Haspelmath). http://linguistics.buffalo.edu/people/faculty/dryer/dryer/blt